Round 2

Round 2: Glasgow

2nd December

The Revolution Series continued in Glasgow at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome with a spectacular day and night of racing which saw some movement in the Championship standings.

Storey Racing got off to a strong start in the afternoon session with home favourite Neah Evans winning the women’s Points Race. Team mate Emily Nelson was third with Kirsten Wild (Team Rowe & King) taking second spot.

Storey Racing followed this up with second in the Madison TT but this came at a cost with Emily Nelson crashing in the hand sling which forced her to retire from the rest of the racing as a precaution for a head injury. The race was won by Team Rowe and King with Dani Rowe and Kirsten Wild setting a blistering time of 1.01.601.

In the men’s Championship Matt Gibson followed up his Points Race victory in London with another win in Glasgow pushing Team HMT up the leader board. Ben Swift (World All Stars) was second with Wim Stroetinga (Team Pedalsure) third.

The afternoon session finished with a dramatic sprint in the Elimination/Scratch Race which saw Ed Clancy return to winning ways picking up some crucial points for JLT Condor. Matt Gibson continued his strong form taking second with Fred Wright (Inspired) in third.

The evening session saw Jessica Roberts (Inspired) take victory in the Scratch Race, with Neah Evans (Storey Racing) winning the Elimination Scratch. The final Team Elimination was won by Team Rowe and King which moved them up the Championship standings into 2nd position only 5 points behind Team WNT who retain the overall lead.

Meanwhile Pedalsure took the honours in the Madison TT wining ahead of Team Inspired in a time of 55.575. They followed this up with third in the Team Elimination which was won by Team Inspired (Fred Wight and Jake Stewart) and wrapped up the evening with another victory in the scratch Race as Wim Stroetinga narrowly beat Ed Clancy on the line. This meant Team Pedalsure moved up to second ahead of JLT Condor in third with Team Inspired retaining the overall lead

In the Future Stars competition Ella Barnwell retained her lead with another dominant performance taking two wins and two second places. Victories also came from Zoe Backstedt (Elimination) and Amy Monkhouse (Points Race).

James Codd also retained the leader’s jersey in the boy’s competition taking victories in the Points Race and 6 Lap Dash. Owain Roberts won the Elimination with Sam Watson taking victory in the final Scratch Race.

Click here for the full standings of all competitions.

FULL RESULTS - click here to download the full results book


The Revolution Series concludes at the National Cycling Centre in Manchester on 6th January – click here to buy tickets.