Olympic, world and Revolution champions gearing up for London opener

17 November 2017

Olympic gold medallists, world champions and Revolution Series stars in abundance – this year’s London curtain-raiser is certainly not short of talent.


It is a line-up with palmarès aplenty and, with just one week to go, the countdown is well and truly on to see the world’s very best talents taking to the boards.

That is certainly evident in the elite women’s competition with Katie Archibald – the inaugural winner of the Elite Women’s Championship with Podium Ambition – back and ready to try and defend her crown.

This time the world, Olympic and ten-time European champion will don the Team WNT colours on the Lee Valley VeloPark boards alongside Hayley Jones amidst a plethora of top female stars.

That includes Elinor Barker, Archibald’s fellow gold medallist from Rio 2016, set to ride in London, Glasgow and Manchester in this winter’s Elite Women’s Championship.

Accompanied by Manon Lloyd in London, Barker – a former Future Star who admitted she was terrified by her first big crowd – will look to inspire Matrix Fitness to glory after their sixth-place finish last year.

She’ll be joined by fellow Team GB Olympic medallists Dani Rowe – part of Team Rowe and King with Rachele Barbieri – and Lizzie Deignan, riding with Amalie Dideriksen in a Boels-Dolmans team boasting two world champions.

Neah Evans, champion with Archibald last year, returns with a new partner in Emily Nelson, after the two joined forces to win Track World Cup team pursuit gold in Manchester just last weekend.

The talent carries over into the men’s competition, with Ed Clancy looking to lead JLT Condor to a second successive Champions League title when he competes in all three rounds this winter.

Well rested after missing the European Championships, Clancy is no stranger to the Revolution Series boards, itching to get back on the track and show off the talent that earned him three Olympic gold medals.

Jon Mould will be the man in his corner, keen to repeat last year’s domination, but these two will certainly not have things all their own way in the capital.

Andy Tennant and Chris Latham will be hot on their back wheels, with the former looking to improve on his second-place finish in season 14.

As a former Future Star, Tennant knows exactly what the Revolution Series is all about and with Latham alongside him, the Team Wiggins duo are sure to be ones to watch out for in London.

The same can undoubtedly be said for Team Pedalsure, Yoeri Havik and Wim Stroetinga flying the Dutch flag there, while Cameron Meyer and Miles Scotson will ride for the Revolution Allstars.

Ben Swift, once a Future Star and Revolution Series champion, is back and raring to go alongside Adam Blythe in the World All Stars team, while Team HMT will be represented by Matt Gibson and Germain Burton.

Finally, a pair of brothers will join forces in the sprinters’ competition, as Matt and Tom Rotherham line up together for Maloja Pushbikers.

See the world’s best road teams take on the champions of the track in the Revolution Track Cycling Series. Tickets on sale at