Manchester Round 3 Race Report

06 January 2018

Team Pedalsure and Rowe & King win the Elite Championship


The season finale of Revolution in Manchester saw six-time Olympic Champion Jason Kenny return to racing for the first time since the Rio Olympics and the local star didn’t disappoint the packed crowd coming second in both the Sprint and Keirin.

At the start of the day the women’s Championship standings were close with Team Rowe & King chasing WNT Rotor for the title. Rowe & King got off to a strong start with Kirsten Wild taking victory in the Points Race putting them at the top of the Championship standings. Rowe & King extended their lead in the Madison TT with a stunning time of 59.564 ahead of Jadan-Weldtite in second clocking 1.01.561.

Later in the evening session Katie Archibald won the Scratch Race ahead of Elinor Barker in second and Kirsten Wild in third and followed this up with victory in the Elimination / Scratch.

The final race of the night sealed the Championship for Team Rowe & King as they stormed to victory in the Team Elimination putting them top of the table on 266 points ahead of WNT Rotor in second on 212 points.

In the men’s Championship Matt Gibson (Team HMT) once again won the Points Race making it a clean sweep across all three rounds. Chris Latham came second racing for Pedalsure which moved them closer to Team Inspired who started the final round at the top of the Championship table.

Pedalsure got more crucial points in the Elimination / Scratch Race where Andy Tennant just pipped Ed Clancy on the line.

Clancy got his revenge in the Madison TT with an unbelievable ride partnering Jon Mould to break the world record by nearly a second in a time of 53.553. Team Pedalsure (Tennant and Latham) came second which moved them into the lead in the Championship standings.

Inspired clawed a few points back by winning the Team Elimination ahead of Team Pedalsure making it all come down to the final Scratch Race. The race was won by John Archibald leaving Pedalsure and Inspired to mark each other which resulted in Pedalsure Winning the title by only 6 points ahead of Team Inspired.

In the Future Stars Ella Barnwell took successive victories to extend her lead and take the title whilst James Codd took overall victory in the boy’s competition - click here for full final standings.

Click here for full results book (large PDF)